### MINUTES -AS PRESENTED 3/10/20

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION RANCHO HIGH SCHOOL THEATER 1900 SEARLES AVENUE, LAS VEGAS, NV 89101

January 16, 2020 6:00 p.m.

Members Absent

Diane Kinsel, Excused

Becky Nielson, Excused

David Gomez

Lois Mack

Members Present
Albert Delgado
Dave Flatt
Justin Hepworth
Mallory Levins (arrived at 6:19 p.m.)
John Mismas
Matthew Tramp
Colleen Wilson-Pappa

<u>Demographics, Zoning & GIS</u> Rick Baldwin, Director II

Tracy Murphy, Coordinator IV Steve Burda, Coordinator III

Transportation

Rachel Wren

Ray Negrete, Transportation Coordinator IV

FLAG SALUTE

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Adoption of the agenda for January 16, 2020.

Motion: Dave Flatt Second: Rachel Wren Vote: Unanimous

David Gomez, Diane Kinsel, Lois Mack, and Becky Nielson were not present to vote.

#### PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Jose Solorio, former Board of School Trustee and former AZAC member, stated that he knew that AZAC members do their best to do what is in the best interest of the students and the community. He requested that AZAC keep that in mind for this area's current and future students. Mr. Solorio said to remember all students including those that are behind. He said what is really important in our district is to get funding and repairs for all old schools and to get new schools built in our district.

## **INTRODUCTIONS**

Rick Baldwin introduced Attendance Zone Advisory Commission (AZAC) commissioners and Clark County School District staff present.

### STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin gave a brief presentation of the AZAC rules, regulations and public input process. He reviewed the AZAC's proposal to adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Marion Cahlan, Robert Lunt/Arturo Cambeiro, Reynaldo L. Martinez, and C. P. Squires Elementary Schools.

### **PUBLIC INPUT**

None.

Rick Baldwin also reviewed the AZAC's proposals to adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Duanue D. Keller Junior High School and Dr. William H. "Bob" Bailey, Jim Bridger, John C. Fremont, Carroll M. Johnston, K.O. Knudson, Jerome D. Mack, Roy W. Martin, Mario C. and JoAnne Monaco, Dell H. Robison, J.D. Smith and Ed Von Tobel Middle Schools.

### **PUBLIC INPUT**

A large group of teachers from John C. Fremont Middle School protested about temporarily closing Fremont Middle School, losing the Professional Development status, becoming a full magnet, and losing their jobs.

Several parents, grandparents, students, and teachers from K. O. Knudson Middle School expressed their concerns for the reassignment and the possibilities that they may lose magnet seats and special programs. Many wanted K. O. Knudson Middle School to be converted to a full magnet school.

# PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

### MOTION TO AJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 p.m.

Motion: John Mismas Second: Dave Flatt Vote: Unanimous

David Gomez, Diane Kinsel, Lois Mack, and Becky Nielson were not present to vote.