Minutes

Clark County School District

Special Meeting of the Board of School Trustees

Edward A. Greer Education Center, Board Room 2832 East Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, Nevada 89121

Joint Meeting with the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission

Monday, February 28, 2022

5:10 p.m.

Roll Call: Members Present

Irene Cepeda, President

Evelyn Garcia Morales, Vice President

Lola Brooks, Clerk

Linda P. Cavazos, Member Lisa Guzmán, Member Katie Williams, Member

Roll Call Attendance Zone Advisory Commission:

Jesus F. Jara, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools

Members Present
Becky Nielson, Chair
Dave Flatt, Vice Chair
Anna Marie Binder, Member
Diane Kinsel, Member
John Shea, Member
Matthew Tramp, Member
Colleen Wilson-Pappa, Member
Rudy Zamora, Member

Members Absent
Albert Delgado, Member
Mallory Levins, Member
Lois Mack, Member

Members Absent

Danielle Ford, Member

Also present were: Nicole Malich, Board Counsel, District Attorney's Office; Luke Puschnig, General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel; Dr. Brenda Larsen-Mitchell, Deputy Superintendent, Office of the Deputy Superintendent; Tracy Murphy, Interim Director II, Demographics, Zoning, and GIS, Facilities Services Unit; Cindy Krohn, Director, Board Office; Steve Burda, Coordinator III, Demographics, Zoning, and GIS, Facilities Services Unit; Cameron Hasse, GIS Transportation Technician: Shawnique Van Alen, GIS Transportation Technician II; and Denise Zagby, Administrative Secretary II, Board Office.

Teleconference Call Connected

Teleconference call with Trustee Guzmán was connected at 5:10 p.m.

Flag Salute

Trustee Cavazos led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Board Member Arrives

Trustee Brooks arrived at the Board meeting at 5:11 p.m.

Adoption of the Agenda

Adopt agenda.

Motion: Cavazos Second: Williams Vote: Unanimous

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items

None.

Approve School Zoning for the 2022-2023 School Year from Red Rock Elementary School to Paul E. Culley Elementary School

Approval or modification of the recommendation from the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission to reassign students in Grades K-5, living in the area as described, from **Red Rock Elementary School** to the **Paul E. Culley Elementary School**, beginning the 2022-2023 school year, as recommended in Reference 3.01.

Ms. Murphy presented the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's (AZAC's) recommended changes to school attendance boundaries, as shown in Reference 3.01.

Motion to approve.

Motion: Garcia Morales Second: Cavazos Vote: Unanimous

Approve School Zoning for the 2022-2023 School Year from Red Rock Elementary School to J.T. McWilliams Elementary School

Approval or modification of the recommendation from the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission to reassign students in Grades K-5, living in the area as described, from **Red Rock Elementary School** to the **J.T. McWilliams Elementary School**, beginning the 2022-2023 school year, as recommended in Reference 3.02.

Ms. Murphy presented AZAC's recommended changes to school attendance boundaries, as shown in Reference 3.02.

Trustee Guzmán asked if students who are going into the fifth grade could have the option of remaining at their current school.

Ms. Murphy said the Commission had discussions around siblings possibly having to attend different schools. She said there has not been the practice of grandfathering elementary school students, so that would be a new process for fourth-grade students. She stated costs for transportation was also discussed.

Approve School Zoning for the 2022-2023 School Year from Red Rock Elementary School to J.T. McWilliams Elementary School (continued)

Superintendent Jara stated that grandfathering elementary students would include adding more transportation costs. He said at a time when the District has some challenges around transportation, implementing something that would be setting a precedent for the District would not be recommended at this time. He said approximately \$60,000.00 per bus would have to be added to the budget.

Motion to approve.

Motion: Garcia Morales Second: Brooks Vote: Unanimous

School Zoning for the 2022-2023 School Year from Indian Springs and Kenneth Divich Elementary Schools to Marshall C. Darnell Elementary School.

Discussion and possible action on approval or modification of the recommendation from the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission to reassign students in Grades K-5, living in the areas as described, from Indian Springs Elementary School and Kenneth Divich Elementary School to the Marshall C. Darnell Elementary School, beginning the 2022-2023 school year, as recommended in Reference 3.03.

Ms. Murphy presented AZAC's recommended changes to school attendance boundaries, as shown in Reference 3.03.

Motion to approve.

Motion: Guzmán Second: Williams Vote: Unanimous

Approve School Zoning for the 2022-2023 School Year from Howard E. Heckethorn Elementary School, Don E. Hayden and Ruby Duncan Elementary Schools to Vincent L. Triggs Elementary School

Approval or modification of the recommendation from the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission to reassign students in Grades K-5, living in the areas as described, from **Howard E. Heckethorn Elementary School, Don E. Hayden and Ruby Duncan Elementary Schools** to **Vincent L. Triggs Elementary School**, beginning the 2022-2023 school year, as recommended in Reference 3.04.

Ms. Murphy presented AZAC's recommended changes to school attendance boundaries, as shown in Reference 3.04.

Motion to approve.

Motion: Williams Second: Garcia Morales Vote: Unanimous

Approve School Zoning for the 2022-2023 School Year from John C. Fremont Middle School to Roy W. Martin Middle School

Approval or modification of the recommendation from the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission to allow Grandfathering of sixth and seventh grade students currently enrolled within the reassigned areas and to reassign incoming sixth grade students each year and newly enrolled students in the area as described, from **John C. Fremont Middle School** to the **Roy W. Martin Middle School**, beginning with grade six for the 2022-2023 school year, as recommended in Reference 3.05.

Ms. Murphy presented AZAC's recommended changes to school attendance boundaries, as shown in Reference 3.05.

Motion to approve.

Motion: Cavazos Second: Cepeda Vote: Unanimous

Approve School Zoning for the 2022-2023 School Year from Roy W. Martin Middle School to J. D. Smith Middle School

Approval or modification of the recommendation from the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission to allow Grandfathering of sixth and seventh grade students currently enrolled within the reassigned areas and to reassign incoming sixth grade students each year and newly enrolled students in the area as described, from **Roy W. Martin Middle School** to the **J. D. Smith Middle School**, beginning with grade six for the 2022-2023 school year, as recommended in Reference 3.06.

Ms. Murphy presented AZAC's recommended changes to school attendance boundaries, as shown in Reference 3.06.

Motion to approve.

Motion: Brooks Second: Cepeda Vote: Unanimous

Upcoming Meeting of the Board of Trustees – Wednesday, March 2, 2022, 9:00 a.m.

Trustee Cepeda announced the officers meeting scheduled for March 1, 2022, at 4:30 p.m.; a work session scheduled for March 2, 2022, at 9:00 a.m.; and a regular Board meeting scheduled for March 10, 2022.

Public Comment on Non-Agenda Items

None.

Adjourn: 5:36 p.m.

Motion: Cavazos Second: Garcia Morales Vote: Unanimous