MINUTES – AS PRESENTED 3/7/17 CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION SIERRA VISTA HIGH SCHOOL, THEATER 8100 WEST ROBINDALE ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89113

January 10, 2017

Members Present

Albert Delgado Nicole Benson Justin Hepworth Diane Kinsel Mallory Levins Lois Mack Mike Malone Becky Nielson Rachel Wren

Demographics, Zoning & GIS Rick Baldwin, Director II Tracy Murphy, Coordinator IV Steve Burda, Coordinator III

<u>Transportation</u> John Lockhart, Coordinator IV Ray Negrete, GIS Coordinator III

Trustee Carolyn Edwards, District F

FLAG SALUTE

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA Adoption of the agenda for January 10, 2017. Motion: Nicole Benson Second: Mike Malone Vote: Unanimous David Gomez, Shari Lyman, Cyndy Mahoney, and Glen Olsen were not present to vote.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD None.

INTRODUCTIONS Rick Baldwin introduced AZAC commissioners, Clark County School District staff and Trustee Carolyn Edwards. Mr. Baldwin gave a brief presentation of the AZAC rules, regulations and public input process.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Members Absent David Gomez Shari Lyman Cyndy Mahoney Glen Olsen

6:00 p.m.

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposals to establish an attendance boundary for the new school opening 2017 at Chartan Avenue and Pioneer Street and adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Carolyn S. Reedom Elementary School and William V. Wright Elementary School.

Rick Baldwin called for public input. No one from the public chose to speak.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposals to establish attendance boundaries for the two new schools opening 2017 at Arville Street and Mesa Verde Lane and at Maule Avenue and Grand Canyon Drive as well as the mid-year opening January, 2018 at Ford Avenue and Riley Street and adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Tony Alamo Elementary School, Kathy L. Batterman Elementary School, Mark L. Fine Elementary School, Robert L. Forbuss Elementary School, Charlotte Hill Elementary School, Aldeane Comito Ries Elementary School, Judith D. Steele Elementary School, Wayne N. Tanaka Elementary School and Louis Wiener, Jr. Elementary School.

PUBLIC INPUT

One parent spoke in opposition to Proposal 2.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposals to adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Lawrence and Heidi Canarelli Middle School, Wilbur and Theresa Faiss Middle School, Victoria Fertitta Middle School, Clifford J. Lawrence Junior High School, and Lois and Jerry Tarkanian Middle School.

PUBLIC INPUT

Five (5) parents and one (1) student spoke in favor of including phasing in the proposals.

Rick Baldwin informed the public AZAC will make their final zoning recommendations to forward to the Board of School Trustees at the meeting to be held on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, 9:30 a.m. in the Board Room of the Edward A. Greer Education Center. Zoning recommendations will be voted upon by the Board of School Trustees at a special board meeting on February 22, 2017, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Edward A. Greer Education Center.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD None.

MOTION TO AJOURNThe meeting was adjourned at 6:55 p.m.Motion: Nicole BensonSecond: Becky NielsonDavid Gomez, Shari Lyman, Cyndy Mahoney, and Glen Olsen were not present to vote.