## **MINUTES**

# CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES SCHOOL NAME COMMITTEE EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM

2832 E. FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121

Monday, September 11, 2017

5:30 p.m.

Members Present
Deanna Wright, Chair
Chris Garvey, Member
Jenn Blackhurst, Member
Cindy Dreibelbis, Member
Beatriz Romero, Member
Angela Tripp, Member

Members Absent
Bob Brown, Member

#### WELCOME

Deanna Wright, Chair, School Name Committee, welcomed members of the Committee and audience to the School Name Committee meeting.

Trustee Wright announced that the 2017 Call for Nominations held earlier this year was originally intended to name five new Clark County elementary schools. However, due to the unexpected construction delay of one of the five school locations included in the original call for nominations, the Committee will only make recommendations for the FOUR schools currently scheduled to open in fall 2018.

The school to be built on the Chapata Drive and Casady Hollow Avenue location in Henderson is now scheduled to open in fall 2019, and will be included in a future call for nominations.

# ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Adoption of the agenda for September 11, 2017.

Motion: Garvey Second: Tripp Vote: 6-0

# APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the minutes of August 3, 2017.

Motion: Garvey Second: Romero Vote: 6-0

RENAMING OF STEVE COZINE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL. Discussion and possible action to forward a recommendation to rename Steve Cozine Elementary School, the Steve and Linda Cozine Elementary School, for approval to the Board of School Trustees.

Principal Samuel Rado presented the application, specifically highlighting that Linda Cozine's name was not allowed to be on the school at the time of initial naming, as she was still employed by the Clark County School District. Trustee Garvey inquired as to the costs associated with the name change and the principal confirmed that the school has secured budget to cover the cost of new signage and other associated costs. Motion to recommend to the Board of School Trustees to rename Steve Cozine Elementary School, the Steve and Linda Cozine Elementary School.

Motion: Dreibelbis Second: Tripp Vote: 6-0

2017 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FINALISTS. Discussion and possible action to review the 15 finalists from the 2017 Call for Nominations and forward a recommendation to name seven new elementary schools to open in fall 2018 for approval to the Board of School Trustees.

The Committee received presentations from representatives of the 15 finalists, as follows:

Finalist: Sandra Bonnett Abston
 Presenters: Jason Lillebo and Jennifer Boccia

Finalist: Shirley Barber
 Finalist: Norman Craft
 Finalist: Kenneth Divich
 Presenter: Bryant Barber
 Presenter: Charles Sylvestri
 Presenter: Kurt Divich

Finalist: Robert and Sandy Ellis
 Finalist: Margery Gill
 Finalist: Barry and June Gunderson
 Presenters: Senator Richard Bryan and Tim Adams
 Presenters: Emilee Wirshing and Talia Rothman
 Presenters: John, Jamie, and Ben Gunderson

Finalist: Earl Norton Jenkins
 Presenter: Gary Miller

Finalist: Lamar and Pat Marchese
 Finalist: Bruce Miller
 Presenters: Florence Rogers and Nate Jamillo
 Presenters: Dr. Kay Carl, Bernie Yumann, and

Dr. Mark Wickstrom

• Finalist: Orton Dennis Ortwein Presenters: Rick Watson and Terri Janison

Finalist: Dr. George Ann Rice
 Finalist: Joyce Schneider
 Presenter: Meg Nigro
 Presenter: Joyce Schneider

Finalist: Francie D. Summers
 Presenters: Bob and Stephanie Barnes

Finalist: Helen Anderson Toland
 Presenters: Harvey Munford and Marcia Robinson

Marie Bilboa provided public comment in support of the application for Barry and June Gunderson.

As prescribed in the Naming of Schools and Education-Related Facilities Procedural Guide, the Committee voted via ballot to select names for the new school facilities. Four separate votes were held. The four names that received the required four or more votes, per the procedural guide, were (in alphabetical order):

- Shirley Barber,
- Kenneth Divich,
- Robert and Sandy Ellis, and
- Dennis Ortwein.

These four names will be recommended to the Board of School Trustees for final approval.

### APPROVE AGENDA PLANNING AND FUTURE MEETINGS

The Committee confirmed that the next meeting will be held in early 2018 to review plans for the 2018 Call for Nominations.

## PUBLIC HEARINGS/RESPONSE TO PUBLIC COMMENT

Terri Janison thanked the committee for their work on this process.

**ADJOURN:** 8:28 p.m.

Motion: Garvey Second: Blackhurst Vote: 6-0