MINUTES - AS PRESENTED 9/27/22

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES

ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM 2832 E. FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121

March 8, 2022 ____ 10:30 a.m.

Roll Call:

Members Present
Becky Nielson, Chair
Dave Flatt, Vice Chair
Anna Binder, Member
Diane Kinsel, Member
Lois Mack, Member
John Shea, Member
Matthew Tramp, Member

Members Absent
Albert Delgado, Member
Mallory Levins, Member
Rudy Zamora, Member

Tracy Murphy, Coordinator IV Steve Burda, GIS Coordinator III

Cameron Hasse, GIS Transportation Technician II, Transportation Shawnique Van Alen, GIS Transportation Technician II, Transportation

Luke Puschnig, General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel

FLAG SALUTE

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Adoption of the agenda for March 8, 2022.

Motion: Dave Flatt Second: Matthew Tramp Vote: Unanimous

Albert Delgado, Mallory Levins, and Rudy Zamora were not present to vote.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes for January 25, 2022.

Motion: Dave Flatt Second: Matthew Tramp Vote: Unanimous

Albert Delgado, Mallory Levins, and Rudy Zamora were not present to vote.

REPORTS

Tracy Murphy stated that the annual AZAC Appreciation Lunch hosted by the Board of School Trustees would be Tuesday, March 15, 2022, at 11:00 a.m., at the Edward Greer Education Center. Ms. Murphy also expressed condolences on the passing of Colleen Wilson-Pappa.

APPROVED ZONING FOR THE 2022-2023 SCHOOL YEAR

Tracy Murphy stated that on February 28, 2022, the Board of School Trustees approved the AZAC Zoning Recommendations for all four areas discussed during this zoning season. She thanked all of the AZAC members for their participation and hard work.

Matthew Tramp questioned why E1 and M1 were voted on in two separate actions.

Tracy Murphy stated the agenda is prepared by the Board and they have a separate process than AZAC.

John Shea thanked the staff for their hard work.

Anna Binder also thanked staff and expressed condolences on the passing of Colleen Wilson-Pappa.

REVIEW OF THE 2022-2023 ZONING SEASON PRIORITIES

Tracy Murphy stated that there are currently no specific priorities for next year's zoning season but, over the next few months, will be evaluating a number of factors to develop focus areas for the next zoning season. Factors include planning and growth of residential communities, requests for review of attendance boundaries received from school staff, overcrowding, and enrollment trends, and enrollment results due to the Change of School Assignment (COSA) process. She told the AZAC members to contact Demographics, Zoning, and GIS if there are any areas they felt should be looked at in their Trustee District.

Matthew Tramp wanted to clarify that there are no new schools opening in 2023-2024 for the next AZAC season for which zoning would need to be established.

Tracy Murphy stated that was correct, there are no new schools opening that school year that would require zoning by AZAC.

Dave Flatt asked if there were any plans to look at readjusting boundaries for the high schools above capacity.

Tracy Murphy stated that the Northeast Career and Technical Academy (NECTA) is scheduled to open in a couple of years. It will be located near Legacy High School. It is believed that it will have a positive impact on high schools, particularly in that area. She also stated that the South Career and Technical Academy (SCTA) in west Henderson is in the process of being planned and would be under construction the year after NECTA.

Anna Binder asked if there was going to be another magnet school opening in the southwest in the next couple of years.

Tracy Murphy stated that is the SCTA.

Anna Binder asked about a smaller high school program with CSN in east Henderson. Tracy Murphy stated that it is on the Capital Improvement Program Revision #5 but, at this time, there is no opening date or specific details.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS None.

ADJOURN

Meeting adjourned at 10:47 a.m.

Motion: Dave Flatt Second: John Shea Vote: Unanimous

Albert Delgado, Mallory Levins, and Rudy Zamora were not present to vote.