MINUTES

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES EDWARD A. GREER EDUCATION CENTER, BOARD ROOM 2832 E. FLAMINGO ROAD, LAS VEGAS, NV 89121

JOINT MEETING WITH THE ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION

Member Absent

Erin E. Cranor, Member

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

5:35 p.m.

Roll Call: <u>Members Present</u>

Carolyn Edwards, President

Lorraine Alderman, Vice President

Deanna L. Wright, Clerk Chris Garvey, Member Patrice Tew, Member

Dr. Linda E. Young, Member

Dwight D. Jones, Superintendent of Schools

Also present were: Mary Ann Peterson, Board Counsel, District Attorney's Office; Pat Skorkowsky, Deputy Superintendent, Instruction Unit; Jeff Weiler, Chief Financial Officer, Business and Finance Division; Rick Baldwin, Director, Demographics, Zoning and GIS Department, Business and Finance Division; Cindy Krohn, Executive Assistant to the Board, Board Office; Elizabeth Carrero, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, Office of the Superintendent; Lisa Chrapcynski, Administrative Secretary II, Board Office; and Attendance Zone Advisory Commission (AZAC) Members Becky Nielson, JoAnna Foutz, Mike Malone, Albert Delgado, Anna Slighting, and Zan Hyer.

FLAG SALUTE

Trustee Young led the Pledge of Allegiance.

ADOPT AGENDA

Adopt agenda.

Motion: Alderman Second: Young Vote: Unanimous

ANNOUNCEMENT

Trustee Edwards noted that Trustee Cranor would not be in attendance due to a previous obligation.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

APPROVE SCHOOL ATTENDANCE ZONING FOR THE 2013-2014 SCHOOL YEAR

Approval on approval, modification, or combining elements of the recommendations set forth below, for changes to school attendance zoning for the schools listed below: (Option 1) the recommendation from the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission (AZAC); (Option 2) a staff recommendation to consider three zoning proposals not selected by the AZAC; (Option 3) a staff recommendation to consider a zoning proposal incorporating the effect of a potential Superintendent's decision to convert to a year-round calendar for some schools; and (Option 4) the Board may approve, modify, or combine elements of any of the foregoing recommendations, for rezoning Grades K-5, living in the area of and/or attending the following schools: R. Guild Gray Elementary School; Pat A. Diskin Elementary School; Patricia A. Bendorf Elementary School; Frank Kim Elementary School; Keith C. and Karen W. Hayes Elementary School; Lucille S. Rogers Elementary School; Kathy L. Batterman Elementary School; Wayne N. Tanaka Elementary School; Robert L. Forbuss Elementary School; Judith D. Steele Elementary School; William V. Wright Elementary School; Carolyn S. Reedom Elementary School; Charles and Phyllis Frias Elementary School; Aldeane Comito Ries Elementary School; Evelyn Stuckey Elementary School; Charlotte Hill Elementary School; Louis Wiener, Jr., Elementary School; Roger M. Bryan Elementary School; John R. Beatty Elementary School; John R. Hummel Elementary School; Roberta Cartwright Elementary School; and Roger D. Gehring Elementary School, beginning with the 2013-2014 school year, as recommended in Reference 3.01.

Trustee Edwards explained that the Attendance Zone Advisory Commission (AZAC) made recommendations to the Board, through the Superintendent, prior to any knowledge of a recent decision made by Superintendent Jones to convert three schools to a year-round calendar. She stated that there are four options being presented here: the AZAC recommendation, two proposals that were considered by AZAC, and a staff recommendation based on the three schools converting to a year-round calendar.

AZAC took roll call and opened their meeting by unanimous vote at 5:43 p.m.

Mr. Baldwin briefly went over the three proposals that AZAC considered, which were presented to the public on January 22 and 23; AZAC's subsequent recommendation; and the affect the Superintendent's decision to convert Forbuss, Reedom, and Wright Elementary schools to a year-round calendar had on staff's recommendation.

Public Hearing

Heather Houston (phonetic) asked about another proposal involving Frias and Stuckey Elementary Schools.

Trustee Edwards said the Board is not considering that at this time.

APPROVE SCHOOL ATTENDANCE ZONING FOR THE 2013-2014 SCHOOL YEAR (continued)

Motion to approve staff-recommended changes to southwest elementary school attendance boundaries as presented under Option 3 for Louis Wiener, Jr., Charlotte Hill, Aldeane Comito Ries, Kathy L. Batterman, Lucille S. Rogers, Frank Kim, Roger M. Bryan, Patricia A. Bendorf, Keith C. and Karen W. Hayes Elementary Schools.

Motion: Alderman Second: Wright Vote: Unanimous

Trustee Edwards asked staff to note that the agenda item on next year's joint AZAC meeting should allow for discussion of the next year moving forward. She said at some point there would need to be a discussion regarding looking at the entire District.

AZAC adjourned their meeting by unanimous vote at 6:15 p.m.

AGENDA PLANNING: ITEMS FOR FUTURE AGENDAS

None.

DISCUSSION AND REQUEST FOR SPECIAL MEETINGS

Trustee Edwards noted that the Board has scheduled a special meeting for March 14 at 9:00 a.m. in the board room to discuss next steps for hiring a superintendent.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

ADJOURN: 6:17 p.m.

Motion: Tew Second: Wright Vote: Unanimous

Meeting minutes transcribed by Stephanie Gatlin, Transcriber/Recording Secretary, Board Office.