MINUTES- **AS IS 1/23/18**

CLARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES ATTENDANCE ZONE ADVISORY COMMISSION

CORONADO HIGH SCHOOL, THEATER
1001 CORONADO CENTER DRIVE, HENDERSON, NV 89052

<u>January 18, 2018</u> 6:00 p.m.

Members Present

Albert Delgado

Nicole Benson (arrived at 6:03 p.m.)

Dave Flatt

Angela Haldeman

Diane Kinsel

Mallory Levins (arrived at 6:05 p.m.)

Shari Lyman

Lois Mack

Cyndy Mahoney

Becky Nielson

Matthew Tramp

Rachel Wren

Demographics, Zoning & GIS

Rick Baldwin, Director II

Tracy Murphy, Coordinator IV

Steve Burda, Coordinator III

Transportation

Ray Negrete, GIS Coordinator IV

Marcelo Valenzuela, Transportation Operations Manager

Cameron Hasse, Transportation GIS Technician

FLAG SALUTE

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Adoption of the agenda for January 18, 2018.

Motion: Dave Flatt Second: Rachel Wren Vote: Unanimous

Nicole Benson, David Gomez, Mallory Levins, Mike Malone, and Glen Olsen were not present to vote.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

None.

INTRODUCTIONS

Rick Baldwin introduced AZAC commissioners, Clark County School District staff and Trustees Kevin Child and Deanna Wright. Mr. Baldwin gave a brief presentation of the AZAC rules, regulations and public input process.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposals to establish an attendance boundary for the new Dennis Ortwein Elementary School, opening 2018 at Dean Martin Drive and Interstate 15, and to adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Charles and Phyllis Frias, Aldeane Comito Ries, and Evelyn Stuckey Elementary Schools.

Members Absent

David Gomez

Mike Malone

Glen Olsen

PUBLIC INPUT

One parent opposed Proposal 1, Area D, moving students from Frias Elementary School to Stuckey Elementary School.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposal to adjust the attendance zone boundaries of Lawrence and Heidi Canarelli and Wilbur and Theresa Faiss Middle Schools.

PUBLIC INPUT

None.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposals to establish attendance boundaries for the new Shirley A. Barber Elementary School at Spencer Street and Pyle Avenue and for Robert and Sandy Ellis Elementary School at Beltrada Avenue and Via Italia, both opening August 2018, and eliminate the attendance boundary of Roger Gehring Elementary School in order to establish the Roger Gehring Academy of Science and Technology magnet program, and to adjust the attendance zone boundaries of John C. Bass, Roberta C. Cartwright, John R. Hummel, Steve Schorr, and Shirley and Bill Wallin Elementary Schools.

PUBLIC INPUT

None.

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Rick Baldwin reviewed Attendance Zone Advisory Commission's proposal to eliminate the attendance boundary of Thurman White Middle School in order to establish the full dedicated magnet program at Thurman White Academy of the Performing Arts and to adjust the attendance boundaries of B. Mahlon Brown, Lyal Burkholder, Helen C. Cannon, Francis H. Cortney, Barbara and Hank Greenspun, Jack and Terry Mannion, Bob Miller, Jack Lund Schofield, Charles Silvestri, and Del E. Webb Middle/Junior High Schools.

PUBLIC INPUT

33 parents and one community member oppose Area K reassignment from Greenspun Junior High School to Schofield Middle School. Five parents oppose Area R reassignment from Mannion Middle School to Burkholder Middle School. One parent favors Area F reassignment from White Middle School to Greenspun Junior High School. One parent opposes reassignment from Webb Middle School to Silvestri Middle School.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

Two parents asked questions and were reminded AZAC is prohibited from answering during the Public Input Meeting.

MOTION TO AJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Motion: Dave Flatt Second: Shari Lyman Vote: Unanimous

David Gomez, Mike Malone, and Glen Olsen were not present to vote.